EMLO Webinar Programme of Events 2021

23rd September – 15.00 CET / 14.00 BST / 10.00 EDT

The Whistleblower Directive (Directive (EU) 2019/1937):

Key points explained and action needed

– Chair: Marjorie Holmes, Partner, Reed Smith London

Michael V. Møller, Chief Legal Counsel, Commercial & Procurement, Maersk Legal HQ, Copenhagen.

Rizzy Qureshi, Partner, Reed Smith, Washington DC

A panel of speakers to include Danish shipping company Maersk; sustainable energy solutions and wind turbine manufacturers Vestas and lawyers Reed Smith in Washington DC will discuss the new directive and the practical effect it will have on business in the maritime sector.

19 October 15.00CET / 14.00BST

EU and UK Trade Policy in the 2020’s

EU and UK trade policy will have a critical role to play in the next few years, both for the EU-UK and globally.  This webinar will tackle the new rules on foreign subsidies, the EU blocking regulation dealing with the extra-territorial problems of US sanctions and the compatibility of the UK transition anti-dumping review regime with WTO law.

More exciting webinar dates to follow shortly… 

Previous Events of 2021

7 & 8 July – 09:00EST / 15:00CET / 14:00BST

EMLO : Sustainability Webinars

Two days of webinars focusing on the issues surrounding sustainability in the shipping industry 

Event kindly sponsored by:

Day 1 – 7 July – 09:00EST / 15:00CET / 14:00BST

De-carbonisation of shipping: Fit for 55? (15:00-16:00 CET)

The EU’s Green Deal and the way forward for the shipping industry

Moderator: Sir Nicholas Forwood QC – Counsel, White & Case

Speakers:

James J. Corbett – Environmental Director Europe, World Shipping Council

Jacob Armstrong – Sustainable Shipping Officer, Transport & Environment

The shipping industry is responsible for around 2,5% of total global CO2 emissions.  It is clear that emissions need to go down drastically and quickly to combat climate change.  The European Commission will shortly share its “Fit for 55” proposals related to the EU’s Green Deal which will likely have a profound impact on the shipping industry in Europe but also globally. Our speakers will provide an overview of the most important shorter and longer-term policy choices and the impact on the industry.

 

Green Ship Financing and the Maritime Taxonomy Regulation (16:00-16:30 CET)

Anna Bredima, Senior policy advisor on European affairs at the Cyprus Union of Shipowners interviews Katalin Dobranszky, Finance Director of ECSA, the European Community Shipowners Associations on the EU Taxonomy for Sustainable Finance and its impact on green ship financing.

 

Day 2 – 8 July – 09:00EST / 15:00CET / 14:00BST

 

De-carbonisation of shipping; is competition law a help or a hindrance?

The competition law assessment of green cooperation agreements

General introduction (15:00-15:30 CET)

Theon van Dijk, Chief Economist, The Netherlands Authority for Consumers and Markets (ACM)

 

Hypothetical case study (15:30-16:30 CET)

A discussion based on a hypothetical case study presented by Rob Murray (Mishcon de Reya) and Matthijs Visser (RBB Economics). The case study will cover issues such as private standard-setting and enforcement, the exchange of information, surcharges and the challenges of obtaining global approvals

18 May – 15.30 BST / 16.30 CET / 10.30 EDT/EST

Covid: A Retrospective One Year On

Chair:

Ann Fenech, Partner of Fenech & Fenech Advocates – Valletta

Speakers:

Camilla Holtse, Associate General Counsel in Maersk Line, Copenhagen

Kirstie Nicholson, Global competition Counsel BHP Billiton, Singapore

Pietro Palandri, Lawyer and arbitrator with Studio Legale/Mordiglia, Genova

The whole world has suffered from COVID in 2020 and onwards and the shipping industry has been as hard as many other areas of business

Supply chains, rates of pay and the labour market have been hardest hit.  The panel will discuss their experiences in the past year and cover practical shipping topics including judicial sales, trade, the effect on the cruise line industry, Box ships, crew and the approach taken by competition authorities to industry collaborations and other COVID-related initiatives,  and maritime topics.

18 March – 09:30EST / 14:30CET / 13:30GMT

U.S. Maritime Policy under The Biden Administration: Continuity or Change?

Chair: Dr Vincent Power, Chairman of EMLO

Moderator: Jeff Lawrence, Partner Cozen O’Connor, Washington D.C, Co-Chair of the International Transportation Committee of the ABA International Law Section

Speakers:

Commissioner Carl W. Bentzel, Federal Maritime Commission

William Doyle, Executive Director, Maryland Port Administration – Port of Baltimore

Rear Admiral Michael Rodriguez, USMS (Former MARAD Deputy Administrator)

The policies and philosophical approaches of former President Donald Trump and recently sworn-in President Joe Biden are dramatically different. Areas such as international economic policy, environmental and trade regulation, and relations with allies and trading partners are all now in play and poised for change.

The important question for maritime stakeholders will be how the change in Administration will impact the maritime industry.

Our panel of experts, with decades of experience in US maritime policy, can be expected to touch on a diverse list of topics including economic and environmental regulation, Jones Act, infrastructure investment, supply chain challenges, trade, security, and more.

EMLO is delighted to host this special one hour free ranging discussion amongst  a unique group of experts to discuss key issues that are central to the future of maritime commerce in the U.S. trades.

January 26 15.30 CET /14.30 GMT 

EU & Maritime policy: A Review of 2020 and Preview of 2021 (members-only event)

Chair:

Dr Vincent Power, Partner A&L Goodbody, Dublin and Chair of EMLO

Speakers:

Sarah Biontino, Biontino Europe Sprl, Brussels

Matthew Levitt, Partner, Baker Botts, Brussels

Sarah and Matthew will review events in EU and Maritime policy in 2020 and give us the benefit of their expertise and knowledge to suggest what to expect in 2021! This is the second year we have held this session with Sarah and Matthew and it is back by popular demand and not one to miss!